Curate Pretty

life and love for women who want to live and thrive


Is the WhatsApp Update Something to Worry About?

Let’s get this out of the way: if you’re seriously worried that Zuckerberg (by which I mean FB and WhatsApp) can access your bank details imma need you to back outta here cos your problems are too many. K thanks.

Alright, the rest of you.

What is the big deal about the WhatsApp update?

Simply put, it means that WhatsApp and Facebook will be more integrated where your data is concerned. That is to say, both apps were already collecting data from and about you (and in the case of Facebook probably sharing it with Google), the only difference will be the cross-app sharing of such data (which includes but is not limited to information about your location, phone type&model, and usage). Ever had instances where a conversation on Whatsapp triggered eerily relevant ads on FB? I think WhatsApp and FB been sharing data, they’re only now updating policies to reflect that. Don’t quote me.

In some countries the update will also pave the way for financial transactions on the app but we are familiar with online payments and we won’t worry about that.

Is it really a big deal?

Well to be honest, I don’t think it is. And since Elon Musk is not exactly someone I trust, I’m not getting my panties in a knot because of anything he says. Google and Facebook have been tracking what you do, where you go, what you like, who you talk to and for how long, what does it matter if Whatsapp (which Facebook has owned for years) is joining the fray? What difference does that really make?

Just calm down, use two-factor authentication where possible, keep your location turned off, and/or move to Signal because yeah, Elon Musk is trustworthy and doesn’t want to sell us to the aliens, right? Right.

Do You Need to Make Any Changes?

The update won’t affect your experience of either platform (more useful ads, maybe) so you actually don’t need to do anything except click that accept button. It’s not that complicated. Remember that to Zuckerberg, you are the product. His goal is to get as much information about you as possible, as close to real time as possible (for nefarious reasons obviously, he’s not your friend). But…he’s been doing that already so like I said, calm down. There’s a good sheeple.

Seriously though, what should you do?

If I were you I’d start thinking about where I want to be when the world ends because that’s a more rational concern than “Is Zuckerberg tryna steal the R32 that’s in my account?” Some of y’all worried about your bank details being accessed like there’s money worth stealing in there, when you know your account is as empty as my lovelife.

What’s the bottom line?

If you’re a spy, an anarchist, a revolutionary, counter-revolutionary or something like that that requires extreme privacy, then by all means leave WhatsApp alone because it’s not the most secure of messaging apps.

I’m neither opposed to nor gung-ho about messaging platforms. I’ll move to Signal/Telegram if the people I communicate with most do so, but until then Zuckerberg can enjoy these chats about my witchy evolution and these memes about depression and fuckboys.



8 responses to “Is the WhatsApp Update Something to Worry About?”

  1. You killed me at R32. Loved it, I’m staying .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I found myself laughing out reading this. I love the humour used in passing the message. Thank you! ♥️✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. High praise sis, thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 40 of 50 apps on my phone have access to my location.. I’m probably doing a sucky job of protecting my interests but let them try to steal away the rtgs balance in my phone, it’s not even real money like the plastic flowers I gave away last Valentine because I think it’s weird to give someone flowers and then watch them die because… I love YouTube. . YouTube is not worth it… And maybe the aliens could have more love for us…. Send us a signal
    ~B

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🤣🤣🤣 on an unrelated note, I recommend the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo. Audiobook on YouTube. You’ll love it.

      Like

      1. Would you believe I’ve never done audio books🙈
        ~B

        Like

      2. Good opportunity to start then 😁

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started